Grief is a description of the different psychological stages many people go through after experiencing a loss in their lives. The process has been found to be similar when experiencing the death of a loved one, the diagnosis of serious health problems and even after experiencing such life changing events as redundancy at work.

The Grief Processs was first proposed by Kübler Ross and has a number of variations.

From the feedback from my workshops I believe the model below describes many of the stages that heart patients experience on their road to readjustment.

The grief process includes a number of stages.

Grief Stages:

- Denial
- Shock
- Anger
- Depression
- Acceptance
- Well being

Why Grief is important for Heart Patients

Quite often patients, family, friends find it difficult to understand why for a significant peiod of time after a heart event, they still have not recovered and gotten back to their "normal" selves.

For most people the readjustment to life with a heart problem is not something that occurs immediately.

What can we do about it?

For most people the stages are temporary and able to be managed. The Stages of Grief affect people differently.  While anger may be a major concern for some, depression or denial maybe for others.

For the behaviours and issues related to each stage see Grief Stages

© Len Gould 2019 Heartemotions (Version V210118)